Sunday, January 24, 2010

'Hurt Locker,’ ‘Up,’ ‘The Cove’ win Producers Guild Award

Summit's The Hurt Locker took home the Darryl F. Zanuck Producer of the Year Award in Theatrical Motion Pictures at the 21st annual PGA Awards. The prize was shared by producers Kathryn Bigelow (who also directed, photo at left), Mark Boal (the film's screenwriter), Nicolas Chartier and Greg Shapiro.

The presentation capped the 21st Annual Producers Guild of America Awards 2010 ceremony held at the Hollywood Palladium this evening.

The Hurt Locker has picked up numerous critics awards, and two weekends ago it won the Broadcast Film Critics Assn.'s Critics Choice Award for best picture. But at the Golden Globes two nights later, Avatar walked off with the best drama prize, and at Saturday's SAG Awards, Inglourious Basterds picked up the film ensemble award, that guild's equivalent of the best picture prize.

With its PGA triumph, The Hurt Locker now reseizes the moment, although a best picture Oscar is by no means a done deal: During the 20-year history of the PGA Awards, 12 of its movie winners have gone on to win the best-film Oscar.

Louie Psihoyos’s The Cove won the documentary prize.

Pixar’s Up also nominated in the field of 10 Best Picture contenders, won the animated feature award, the highest grossing film of the category.

Mo’Nique presented the Stanley Kramer Award to Precious director Lee Daniels. Tom Hanks and Tim Allen presented the David O. Selznick Award to Pixar's John Lasseter. Will Smith presented the Milestone Award to Sony’s Amy Pascal and Michael Lynton.

* * *

No comments: