Wednesday, October 28, 2009


Actor Christoph Waltz, holding Best Supporting Actor Hollywood Award
Awards Show Host Mary Hart and actress Diane Kruger
13th annual Hollywood Awards Gala Ceremony,
The Beverly Hilton Hotel, October 26, 2009 in Beverly Hills, CA
Photo: John Shearer/LIFE

The 13th Annual Hollywood Film Festival's "Hollywood Awards(r)" ceremony was held last night before a standing-room-only audience of over 1,100 Hollywood Film Festival(r) attendees at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Beverly Hills.

The festival and awards, presented by Starz, announced this year's winner of the "Hollywood Movie Award" -- J.J. Abrams' "Star Trek" -- which was chosen by the public voting online at the Yahoo! Movies website. The voting site received 20 million unique visitors and over 160,000 votes were cast. The nominees for the "Hollywood Movie Award" were: "500 Days of Summer," "District 9," "G.I. Joe: The Rise of Cobra," "The Hangover," "Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince," "The Hurt Locker," "Inglourious Basterds," "Star Trek," "Tranformers: Revenge of the Fallen," and "UP."

The festival also announced this year's winner of the Hollywood World Award -- The White Ribbon (Germany/Austria) directed by Michael Haneke. The winner was selected by a panel of judges. The nominees for the "Hollywood World Award" were: "Bright Star" (UK/Australia) directed by Jane Campion, "I Am Love" (Italy) directed by Luca Guadagnino, "Lourdes" (France/Austria) directed by Jessica Hausner, "A Prophet" (France) directed by Jacques Audiard, and "The White Ribbon" (Germany/Austria) directed by Michael Haneke.

The winners of the festival's film competition were announced Sunday night at the Hollywood Discovery Awards(r) Presentation Ceremony at ArcLight Cinemas in Hollywood. This year's winners are: "CROSSING" by Kim Tae-kyun -- Best Feature Film; "GARBAGE DREAMS" by Mai Iskander -- Best Documentary; "SCENESTERS" by Todd Berger -- Best Comedy; "STORIES FROM THE PERCH" by Andrew Zimbelman -- Best Animation, "LAMBS" by Stephen Huff -- Best Short Subject, "AS I LAY DYING - THE SOUND OF TRUTH" by Brian Thompson -- Best Music Video.

Special honors for acting went to Robert De Niro, Hilary Swank, Christoph Waltz, Julianne Moore, Jeremy Renner, Carey Mulligan, Shohreh Aghdashloo, Melanie Lynskey, Zachary Quinto, Paul Schneider, and Gabourey 'Gabby' Sidibe. Other honorees included Bradley Cooper for comedy, Kathryn Bigelow and Lee Daniels for directing; Ryan Kavanaugh for producing; Nora Ephron, Scott Neustadter and Michael H. Weber for screenwriting; "UP," directed by Pete Docter, for animation; Alexandre Desplat for film composing; Roger Deakins for cinematography; Dana Glauberman for editing; Scott Farrar ("Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen") for visual effects; Rick Carter for production design; and Colleen Atwood for costume design.

In addition, the Hollywood Humanitarian Award was presented to Father Rick Frechette for his devotion to the medical needs of children in the Caribbean and around the world.

Celebrities and Hollywood notables who attended the Hollywood Awards included Bill Myers - President and COO of Starz Entertainment, Stephan Shelanski - Executive Vice President of Starz Entertainment, Ron Meyer - President and COO of Universal Studios, Ed Asner, Kate Beckinsale, Maria Bello, Pierce Brosnan, Sandra Bullock, Diablo Cody, Zooey Deschanel, Morgan Freeman, Nicholas Hoult, Kathleen Kennedy, Diane Kruger, Anthony Mackie, Michael Mann, Ewan McGregor, Michelle Monaghan, Steven Spielberg, Charlize Theron, Marisa Tomei, and Chris Weitz to name a few.

The gala awards presentation Monday evening was hosted by Mary Hart of "Entertainment Tonight" and attendees were treated to the music of Johnny Crawford and his Orchestra.


No comments: