Thursday, December 18, 2008


"Doubt" led the way with five nominations for the Screen Actors Guild awards with "Milk" and "The Curious Case of Benjamin Button" taking three each.

"Doubt," "Milk," "Button," "Frost-Nixon" and "Slumdog Millionaire" each received nods in the best ensemble cast category.

In addition, "Doubt" scored nominations with Meryl Streep for best actress, Amy Adams and Viola Davis for supporting actress and Philip Seymour Hoffman for supporting actor.

Kate Winslet took two nominations -- one for actress in "Revolutionary Road" and one for supporting actress in "The Reader."

Angela Bassett and Eric McCormick made the nominations announcements this morning at the Pacific Design Center in Hollywood.

Winners will be announced at the SAG awards ceremonies on Jan. 25 at the Shrine Auditorium in Los Angeles. The awards cover six feature categories and nine in TV.

* * *


The 20th Annual Palm Springs International Film Festival has announced a roster of 210 films, culled from 73 countries for the 2009 Festival. The selection of films for screening includes a total of 77 premieres (14 World, 48 U.S. and 16 North American). Also, 50 of the 67 films submitted for consideration in the Best Foreign Language Film category for the Academy Awards will be screened at this year's Festival, held from January 8-19, 2009.

(Left to right.) Emma Thompson and Dustin Hoffman star in Overture Films'
'Last Chance Harvey'.
Photo Credit: Laurie Sparham,


The Festival will open on Thursday, January 8 with the screening of Golden Globe Nominee Last Chance Harvey (USA) at the Palm Springs High School, followed by a reception at the Palm Springs Art Museum. Last Chance Harvey stars Dustin Hoffman and Emma Thompson who each received a Golden Globe nomination (for Best Actor and Best Actress in the Music or Comedy category) for their performances in the film.

In addition to the Opening Night Gala, the Festival will hold four international galas, a series of special screenings celebrating Festival programming showcases including:

20th Anniversary Gala: $5 a Day (USA)–Marking its U.S. premiere, the film is a tale of a son forced to reunite with his con-artist father during a cross-country odyssey. Directed by Nigel Cole, the film stars Christopher Walken, Allesandro Nivolo, Amanda Peet and Sharon Stone.

Gala: Alien Trespass (USA) – A world premiere, directed by R.W. Goodwin and starring Eric McCormack, Jenni Baird, Dan Lauria and Robert Patrick. Set in 1957, a fiery object from space hurtles into a California desert mountaintop. A murderous creature — the Ghota, bent on destroying all life forms on the planet — escapes from the flying saucer. A benevolent alien, Urp, inhabits the body of Ted Lewis (Eric McCormack), a local astronomer, and with the help of Tammy, a waitress from the local diner, sets out to save mankind.

The Gay!La: Chef’s Special (Spain) – Directed by Nacho Velilla, a cook ditches dreams of Michelin stardom to manage a small barrio eatery. Javier Cámara, Lola Dueñas, Fernando Terjero and Benjamin Vicuña star.

Closing Night Film: The Burning Plain (USA)– A U.S. premiere and directorial debut of award-winning screenwriter Guillermo Arriaga (Amores Perros), is the layered story of a self-destructive woman and two intertwined families. The film stars Charlize Theron, Kim Basinger, Jennifer Lawrence and Joaquim de Almeida.


The Festival will offer a selection of 77 premieres of highly anticipated films showcasing the diversity of international cinema.


As part of the Awards Buzz program, the Festival will screen 50 of the 67 official submissions to the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences for Best Foreign Language Film. Don't miss Jordan's FLFA submission "Captain Abu Raed" from director Amin Matalqa.


The New Voices/New Visions Award will honor one of 12 features from new international talents making their first or second films.


Ten films have been selected as part of Modern Masters program highlighting the latest work of established directors at the forefront of contemporary international cinema.
  • Adam Resurrected (USA/Israel/Germany)
  • Cherry Blossoms (Germany)
  • Everlasting Moments (Sweden/Denmark)
  • Four Nights with Anna (Poland/France)
  • The Hurt Locker (USA)
  • Kabei (Japan)
  • Modern Life (France)
  • Mommy is at the Hairdresser's (Canada)
  • Of Time and the City (UK)
  • White Night Wedding (Iceland)


World Cinema Now will feature 93 films in a wide-ranging overview of contemporary international cinema. True Stories highlights 39 of the best new films in contemporary non-fiction cinema. Archival Treasures will feature the three films Midnight Cowboy (USA), Love One Another (Germany) and The Jester (Poland).


The John Schlesinger Award for Outstanding First Feature or Documentary acknowledges the work of a first-time filmmaker whose film is presented in any program at the Festival. Audience Awards will also be presented for Best Narrative Feature and Best Documentary Feature. Bridging the Borders Award presented by Cinema without Borders will be presented to an international film that extols the universality of the human experience, bridging the borders between nations and promoting international understanding.


The Festival's annual Awards Gala, on Tuesday, January 6, 2009, presented by Cartier and hosted by Entertainment Tonight's Mary Hart, will honor Clint Eastwood with the Career Achievement Award, Ron Howard with the Director's Lifetime Achievement Award, Revolutionary Road with the Ensemble Performance Award, Anne Hathaway with the Desert Palm Achievement Award for Acting, Amy Adams with the Spotlight Award and Dakota Fanning with the Rising Star Award.

Passes and tickets are available for purchase online now.

No comments: